Portal de Caravaca de la Cruz

Caravaca de la Cruz - SpanishCaravaca de la Cruz - English
detail of Caravaca de la Cruz


The work of signaling the Camino de San Juan de la Cruz and the Camino Real de los Vélez are completed (11/06/2019)

The City Council of Caravaca de la Cruz has inaugurated the signage of the Camino Real de los Vélez and the Camino de San Juan de la Cruz, adding two new routes of pilgrimage to the municipality, which also become a cultural resource and for sport in the nature.

The consistories of Caravaca de la Cruz and Vélez Blanco began in March of last year to work on the recovery of the historical pilgrimage road that joins both municipalities, drafting a project for its signaling for this reason.

Both institutions have had the involvement of the entity Cajamar, which has collaborated with the marking works.

The 'Camino Real de los Vélez', of about seventy kilometers, begins in Vélez Blanco, an Almerian town with an important heritage that has shared historical and cultural ties with Caravaca de la Cruz.

It covers territory of the autonomous communities of Murcia and Andalusia.

The route is divided into four stages: 'Vélez Blanco-Las Amohallas', 'Las Almohallas-Cuartel Forestry House of Periago', 'Cuartal Casa Forestal de Periago'- La Almudema' and 'La Almudema-Caravaca de la Cruz'.

During the journey, the walker or cyclist will have the opportunity to enjoy nature in a quiet way, as you will find areas of pine groves, extensive rainfed crops, wadis, villages and farmhouses.

For its part, the Camino de San Juan de la Cruz has a total distance of 151 kilometers and consists of five stages (Beas de Segura-Hornos de Segura, Hornos de Segura-Pontones, Pontones-Santiago de la Espada, Santiago de la Sword-Nerpio, Nerpio-El Sabinar, El Sabinar-Caravaca de la Cruz).

In 2017, the constitution of the Group of Cities 'Camino de San Juan de la Cruz' was agreed, composed of the municipalities of Beas de Segura, Hornos de Segura, Santiago-Pontones, Nerpio, Moratalla and Caravaca de la Cruz, which make up a region historic around the river Segura and belong to the autonomous communities of Andalusia, Castilla-La Mancha and Murcia.

The objective of this group of cities, with the support of the Community of Discalced Carmelites, has been the development of this tourist, cultural and patrimonial proposal, with which it is intended to make known both the work of the Carmelite mystic and those populations that Sometimes he toured.

We have been able to document at least seven trips of the Carmelite saint from these towns to Caravaca de la Cruz.

In Beas de Segura, Santa Teresa de Jesús founded in 1575 the first barefoot convent of Andalusia, arriving Fray Juan de la Cruz in 1578 as Prior of the Calvary of Beas and spiritual director of the nuns, after escaping from the convent prison of Toledo where the shoes had him imprisoned.

In Beas he forged the synthesis of his spiritual thought and composed some of his main literary works.

In Caravaca it had been founded in 1576, by order of Santa Teresa de Jesús, the female convent.

The Saint sent the friar expressly, who assisted the nuns in the first chapter of the congregation.

Years later, he founded a convent of friars in that city, the Convent of Our Lady of Carmen.

Source: Ayuntamiento de Caravaca de la Cruz

UNE-EN ISO 9001:2000 - ER-0131/2006 © 2019 Alamo Networks S.L. - C/Alamo 8, 30850 Totana (Murcia) Privacy policy - Legal notice Región de Murcia
Este sitio web utiliza cookies para facilitar y mejorar la navegación. Si continúas navegando, consideramos que aceptas su uso. Más información